Winter Regatta Report & Photos

Sunday 4th December saw a fleet of 22 assemble for Rollesby Broad’s Winter Regatta. An awkward easterly breeze made course setting tricky, but a variety throughout the day meant everyone having to concentrate and trophies still being open at the start of the final race.

The first race saw a long reaching course set to try and spread the competitors along the broad, however the wind direction meant plenty of holes and resulted in boats travelling in small bunches as they either sailed through or stopped at intervals around the course. Val & Chris Hanson were able to win their Wayfarer battle with John Saddington & Dennis Manning whilst Phil Highfield (Vareo) could not gain a large enough lead to beat either of them. In the single-handers David Frary (Finn) and Chris Toothill (Phantom) were able to use their straight-line speed to establish a large enough gap on the fleet after good starts from the Lasers of Keith Sykes and Zoe Eastwood and the Solo of Ian Ayres.

Race two saw a much compressed course to keep sailors at the windier end of the broad and in the single-handers it was the Solo’s who gained most with Ayres taking a comfortable win from Roger Wilson. The Wayfarers had a really close battle throughout with the Hansons falling foul of traffic shortly before the end to give Saddington the win.

A smaller fleet after lunch gave competitors a bit more room and whilst Highfield led round Saddington again took the win. No need for handicapping in the single-handers as Ayres won on the water from Sykes and Toothill who threw away his place in the last 20 yards!

Prizes were also awarded for the Autumn series which finished the previous week.

Winter Regatta

Multisails  (6 Entries)

  1. John Saddington & Dennis Manning (Wayfarer)
  2. Val & Chris Hanson (Wayfarer)
  3. Phil Highfield (Vareo)

Single-Handers  (16 entries)

  1. Ian Ayres (Solo)
  2. David Frary (Finn)
  3. Keith Sykes (Laser)
  4. Chris Toothill (Phantom)

Autumn Series

All multisail Trophies

John Saddington & Dennis Manning (Wayfarer)


Race 1 – Ian Ayres (Solo)

Race 2 – Paul Warnes (Solo)

Eel’s Foot Series

Ian Hanson (Solo)

ThankKevins to Kevin for these.

Check them out on our Flickr Page its easier to view and offers a full screen slideshow.

Full size images can be down loaded from the RBSC Flickr Page,
How To Downlaod a Photo from the RBSC Flickr page 2014

December 4th – Winter Regatta.