Open Events @ Hickling SC

Two open events Hickling this October that Rollesby members might be interested in.

HBSC Wayfarer Open

On Saturday 9th October, the HBSC Wayfarer Open. This event is listed by the UK Wayfarer Association as “A relaxed one day open meeting”. It could be a little bit more exciting than that, weather depending!  All Wayfarer sailors welcome.

HBSC Solo Open

On Saturday 23rd October Hickling hosts the Solo Dinghy Open. This event is re-scheduled from April and may not be on everyone’s calendar. It still forms part of the National Solo Class Association Eastern Area Series. All Solo dinghy sailors welcome. I hope to see some of you there.

More details on Front Page of HBSC website here……………..

Wed Eve Final Report


Over the Spring and Summer seventeen of the eighteen races scheduled were completed. One was abandoned part way through because of a thunder storm. The wind co operated on most occasions. The evenings were good fun and well supported with up to eighteen boats out on some nights. When this number are racing the personal handicaps of the first and last four are adjusted! A total of 38 different helms took part over the series.

Pre- Start

The last race took place on a dull and blustery night on 25 August and Sixteen boats set out. Prior to the start there was only four series points between the places of the first five boats so the trophy was “ up for grabs.” A final discard would come into the calculation and Jack Ibbotson looked a good favourite for a
series win. Jack set of in his Wayfarer with crew James and was soon in the lead. In the wind and excitement however they repeatedly missed one of the marks on the course and so had to be scored “DNF.” ( as we all know the most important thing about being in front is to go the right way!)

As the race timed out seven boats had closed up together. Roger Wilson with his handicap at plus nine minutes had pulled through the fleet and just passed Richard Foster for a second place. Daniel Bull in his Laser was still
ahead to win the race and the series.

Series Places.

1st – Daniel Bull in his Laser
2nd- Richard Bailey and Ian Curtis in their Wayfarer
3rd – Ellie Edwards in her Splash–

Full results on web site here.

Dan has now accumulated a handicap of Plus seven minutes and so will need to work hard next year to retain the crown.

With the series complete an informal fun race will now be set up on Wednesday evenings for the next few weeks. This will be a pursuit race based on boat handicap only. Start time 17.30 hours

John Saddington

Report – 1st Annual Summer Weekend Regatta

Report – 1st Annual Summer Weekend Regatta – Saturday, 24th July 2021

It was a good start for an event which was delayed by Covid for a year plus. It finally happened, a chance to enjoy some socialising as a Club over a BBQ and some drinks.

The day started with a well contested pursuit race made up of 11 boats. The finish was quite exciting with Daniel Bull over taking Mike Horwitz in the last 30 seconds to take 3rd. And with seconds to go Roger Wilson’s bow crept ahead of Ellie Edwards to take 1st place.

The social began with prize giving: Roger 1st, Ellie 2nd, Daniel 3rd. The BBQ was then lit and the drinks came out. The evening ended with the three campers enjoying some whisky and putting the world to rights.

For those of you that missed it, no worries our plans are to do it again next year, but this time with Covid hopefully out of the way, we will be able to publicize and set a date earlier. And who knows maybe we will even expand it a bit and encourage more of you to join us.


Wed 18th June – Eve Report

Halfway through the series, the evening handicap pursuit racing is proving popular with members.
In spite of our annual weed event the broad remains “sailable.”
Sixteen boats turned out on a “tropical” night. Shorts and tea shirts were the order of dress in the evening sunshine.

Daniel Bull recently joining the Wednesday sailors had an easy win but is now adding minutes to his start time to build up to a proper handicap. Richard Bailey in the Wayfarer in second place is also building minutes to his start. Mike Horwitz and Kevin Edwards had a competitive race with Mike edging in front for a third place.
At the other end of the fleet some of our members are on minus handicaps and enjoy leading round the first laps.

So far 28 boats have taken part in the series this year.

Results upto the 9th June here….

Solo Open – 26th June – Cancelled

Unfortunately due to the weed growth in the Broad, which seems to be
worse than for the last 4 or 5 summers
We have decided to cancel the event rather than run a sub-standard one.

Club sailing will continue as normal and we will be back (hopefully)
on our normal April date next year!

Thank you to all who offered to help – it’s this type of volunteering
which keeps our club ahead of the rest!

Solo Open – 26th June

We are pleased to announce a new Date for the Solo Open that was postponed in April,

The New date will be Saturday 26th June

First race 10.45 approx;

4 races
2 back to back am
2 back to back pm

More info nearer the time.

Race report – Wed 12th May

The third race of our summer pursuit season started under auspicious circumstances; it was not too cold and the wind was moderate!

It was good to see a couple of people who had not sailed before in a Rollesby race amongst the turn-out of 13 boats. We hope to see you back next week!

There was one Wayfarer, flying the flag for the double-handers! The wind behaved (as well as Rollesby wind ever does) and the sun sank slowly as the race progressed.

The Officer of the Day team was kept busy tracking movements up and down the fleet, so they never did manage that second cup of tea.

The result:

  • R Bailey (Wayfarer)
  • K Edwards (Solo)
  • C Foster (Laser)

Perhaps all of us who, after the race, heard the bittern booming over the Broad were winners.