Last Eel’s Foot – 3 Nov 19

23 boats came to the line for the final Eel’s Foot Race of 2019 at Rollesby on Sunday 3rd November. With the breeze blowing straight down the broad race officer Auriel Gibson was able to set a true line and an absolute maximum first beat!

Race Start – thanks to Daniel

Several normally single-hander helms switched to double handed boats and it was Mike McNamara and Andy Smith in an Albacore who had a narrow lead from the Wayfarers of Dave Houghton & John Symonds and Roger Wilson & Dennis Manning by half way up the beat, with Chris Toothill’s Phantom also in the mix to reach the cut first. 

With greater experience of sailing together; or perhaps of deciding if / when to switch to paddle mode; it was the Wayfarers who emerged ahead. Meanwhile John Saddington and Matt Boreham in their Solos were leading the mid-speed boats with Ian & Sharon Ayres in their Leader and Dan Bull in his Laser also in the mix. 

After two triangular laps of the Eel’s Foot (Ormesby Little) Broad it was time for a long running return leg. The Wayfarers were able to hoist their kites and despite the Albacore and Phantom finishing with them, Wilson took the win from Houghton. The Solos and Leader however had kept close enough and took the next three places on handicap. So by winning the last race, Wilson secured the series from Saddington with McNamara third.

Last Race (23 entries)

1. Roger Wilson & Dennis Manning (Wayfarer)
2. Dave Houghton & John Symonds (Wayfarer)
3. John Saddington (Solo)
4. Matt Boreham (Solo)
5. Ian & Sharon Ayres (Leader) 

Series Results (38 participants)

1. Roger Wilson (Solo) – 5 pts
2. John Saddington (Solo) – 10
3. Mike McNamara (Harrier+) – 12
4. Daniel Bull (Laser) – 14
5. Matt Boreham (Laser) – 14